KOUDELKA – Exiles and Panoramas
1968 – 2012

Exhibition from 6 March – 20 September 2020

Josef Koudelka – a life’s work between contemporary history and timelessness.

Josef Koudelka is one of the world’s most influential and distinguished photographers in recent decades. His visual language is incomparable, intense and extraordinary. Born in Boskovice (Czech Republic) in 1938, and currently living in Paris and Prague, the photographer’s impressive work will now be presented in a concise solo exhibition at the Ernst Leitz Museum in Wetzlar.

Exiles and Panoramas places the Exiles series in contrast to a personal selection of Koudelka’s panoramas, taken as of the mid eighties. While he had been entirely dedicated to 35mm photography for his previous work, a panorama camera now gave him the opportunity to discover the world in a new way: with pictures of expansive landscapes and coastal shorelines taken in Europe and the Middle East, he searches for traces of the past in areas that have undergone sometimes devastating changes due to industry, conflict or simply the passage of time. These grandiose visual worlds appear devoid of any people, yet they bear witness to human existence in a disturbing yet beguiling way.

With a total of 68 works, the exhibition at the Ernst Leitz Museum offers a focused insight into Koudelka’s oeuvre. The groups of work reflect an exciting dialogue between humanity and fate, liveliness and dead matter, contemporary history and timelessness.

Dr. Paul Wolff & Tritschler. Light and Shadow – Photographs from 1920 to 1950

Opening exhibition from 28 June 2019 – 20 September 2020

This first major retrospective covering the life and work of Dr Paul Wolff (1887–1951) and Alfred Tritschler (1905–1970) rediscovers two of the most culturally and historically significant German photographers of the first half of the 20th century. Even today, Wolff & Tritschler are renowned as outstanding pioneers of Leica photography, outstanding technicians and pioneers of a vibrant style of illustrative photography and reportage. Their estimated 700,000 pictures reflect all significant trends in photographic modernism, from the movements known as ‘Neues Sehen’ (New Vision) to ‘Neue Sachlichkeit’ (New Objectivity). Active from the middle of the 1920s, Wolff & Tritschler accompanied key events and developments of their times with their cameras – the building of the autobahns, steamship cruises, the fascination of the Zeppelins, architectural modernism and the Olympic Games of 1936. Not least this broad thematic spectrum, in combination with their eye for the moment, a passion for seeing and showing, and a clear commitment to the camera as a medium for communication in the age of technology, made their oeuvre so exceptional.

Wolff & Tritschler never saw themselves as artists, but rather as reliable providers of a service whose company in Frankfurt embraced all genres of contemporary photography – from idealising calendar pages to modern advertising of consumer goods and from dynamic sports photos to stringently precise architectural photographs. In 1923, Paul Wolff’s photography made an essential contribution to the campaign to preserve the historic centre of Frankfurt and thus gave us a lasting impression of the city as it was in the Middle Ages. At the same time, Wolff & Tritschler stand for iconic images of the New Frankfurt, such as the ‘Zig-zag Houses’, the Great Market Hall or the headquarters of I.G. Farben that are still regularly reproduced in printed form today. Wolff & Tritschler were pioneers in the fields of both emerging colour photography and industrial reportage. As a well-organised part of an age of modern media, the company placed an emphasis on the printed image: in fact, there was hardly a magazine or illustrated periodical around 1930 that did not publish pictures by Wolff & Tritscher. Their bibliography runs to more than 300 titles, with translations into English, French, Italian or Japanese. In summary, the lifework of Wolff & Tritschler is not uncontroversial, which the richly orchestrated exhibition of around 400 items – including previously unseen vintage prints, posters, documents, magazines and books – sees more as an opportunity to present Wolff & Tritschler as a ‘phenomenon’ embedded in the history of Germany around 1930.

The extensive exhibition catalogue features contributions by Sabine Hock, Randy Kaufman, Hans-Michael Koetzle, Kristina Lemke, Günter Osterloh, Tobias Picard, Gerald Piffl, Shun Uchibayashi, and Thomas Wiegand.
Hans-Michael Koetzle (ed.): Dr. Paul Wolff & Tritschler: Light and Shadow – Photographs from 1920 to 1950, 464 pages, approx. 1,000 illustrations, hardcover, Kehrer Verlag Heidelberg, 78 EUR. ISBN 978-3-86828-880-3 (German edition) / ISBN 978-3-86828-881-0 (English edition)

https://www.kehrerverlag.com/en/dr-paul-wolff-und-tritschler-1374

Eyes wide open! 100 years of Leica photography

Previous exhibition – ended on 9 June 2019

The museum presents the exhibition ‘Eyes wide open! 100 years of Leica photography’ in June, before the official opening of the museum. Following a successful tour through prominent museums across Europe, the exhibition has now reached its final destination, the Ernst Leitz Museum in Wetzlar. Visitors to the exhibition will see unique and iconic pictures, impressive contemporary documents and magical moments in the history of photography. The works on show include photographs by René Burri, Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Bruce Davidson, William Eggleston, Lee Friedlander, Barbara Klemm, Joel Meyerowitz, László Moholy-Nagy and Alexander Rodchenko.

‘Eyes wide open! 100 years of Leica photography’ explores the radical changes and the visual revolution in the world of photography that was triggered by the invention of the light, compact and extremely mobile ‘Ur-Leica’. The exhibition provides clear answers to how 35 mm photography changed our ways of seeing the world from an artistic and sociohistorical point of view in the 20th century. In 15 chapters, the exhibition spotlights various aspects of 35 mm photography from its beginnings until the present day – from journalistic strategies and documentary approaches to examples of freestyle artistic imagery. The exhibition simultaneously provides insights into the history of technological advances and developments relevant to the art of photography.

Parc de Sceaux, France, 1987 © Josef Koudelka – Magnum Photos

KOUDELKA – Exiles and Panoramas
1968 – 2012

Ausstellung vom 6. März bis 20. September 2020

Josef Koudelka – ein Lebenswerk zwischen Zeitgeschichte und Zeitlosigkeit.

Der tschechische Fotograf Josef Koudelka zählt zu den weltweit prägendsten und profiliertesten Fotografen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Seine Bildsprache ist unvergleichlich, intensiv und außergewöhnlich. Das eindrucksvolle Werk des 1938 in Boskovice (Tschechien) geborenen und heute in Paris und Prag lebenden Fotografen wird nun in einer prägnanten Einzelausstellung im Ernst Leitz Museum in Wetzlar präsentiert.

Exiles und Panoramen kontrastiert die Serie Exiles mit einer persönlichen Auswahl seiner Panoramen, die ab Mitte der 1980er-Jahre entstanden sind. Waren seine Aufnahmen bis dahin ganz der Kleinbildfotografie verpflichtet, entdeckte er mit einer Panorama-Kamera die Welt noch einmal neu: in raumgreifenden Landschaften und Küstenstreifen aus Europa und dem mittleren Osten geht er in Gebieten auf Spurensuche, die durch Industrie, Konflikte oder über die Zeit eine zum Teil verheerende Veränderung durchlaufen haben. Diese großen Bilderwelten erscheinen menschenleer und zeugen doch auf verstörende, gleichzeitig betörende Weise von menschlicher Existenz.

Die Ausstellung im Ernst Leitz Museum präsentiert mit insgesamt 68 Arbeiten einen fokussierten Einblick in das Werk Koudelkas. Dabei reflektieren die Werkgruppen eindrücklich den spannungsvollen Dialog zwischen Mensch und Schicksal, Lebendigkeit und toter Materie, Zeitgeschichte und Zeitlosigkeit.

Dr. Paul Wolff & Tritschler. Licht und Schatten – Fotografien 1920 bis 1950

Eröffnungsausstellung vom 28. Juni 2019 bis 20. September 2020

Mit dieser ersten großen Retrospektive zu Dr. Paul Wolff (1887–1951) und Alfred Tritschler (1905–1970) werden zwei der kulturgeschichtlich bedeutendsten deutschen Fotografen der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts wiederentdeckt. Bis heute bekannt sind Wolff & Tritschler als Pioniere der Leica, als herausragende Techniker und Vorreiter eines lebendigen Stils in Illustrationsfotografie und Reportage. Daneben spiegelt ihr auf 700.000 Aufnahmen geschätztes Werk alle maßgeblichen Trends der fotografischen Moderne, vom Neuen Sehen bis zur Neuen Sachlichkeit. Aktiv ab Mitte der 1920er-Jahre, haben Wolff & Tritschler zentrale Ereignisse bzw. Entwicklungen ihrer Zeit – Autobahnbau, Dampferreisen, Zeppelinbegeisterung, Architekturmoderne, Olympische Spiele 1936 – mit der Kamera begleitet. Nicht zuletzt diese thematische Breite macht zusammen mit einem sicheren Blick, einer Lust am Sehen und Zeigen, einem deutlichen Bekenntnis zur Kamera als Medium der Kommunikation im technischen Zeitalter das Besondere ihres Œuvres aus.
Ihrem Selbstverständnis nach waren Wolff & Tritschler keine Künstler, sondern verlässliche Dienstleister, deren Frankfurter Unternehmen alle Aufgaben neuzeitlicher Fotografie bediente – vom idealisierenden Kalenderblatt bis zur modernen Konsumgüterwerbung, vom dynamischen Sportfoto bis zur strengen Architekturaufnahme. Paul Wolff war es, der sich um 1923 fotografierend für den Erhalt der Frankfurter Altstadt eingesetzt und so unsere Vorstellung vom mittelalterlichen Frankfurt nachhaltig geprägt hat. Gleichzeitig stehen Wolff & Tritschler für bis heute immer wieder gedruckte »Ikonen« des Neuen Frankfurt mit »Zick-Zack-Hausen«, Großmarkthalle oder Sitz der I. G. Farben. Wolff & Tritschler waren Pioniere ebenso auf dem Feld der jungen Farbfotografie wie dem der Industriereportage. Als gut organisierter Teil einer Medienmoderne setzte das Unternehmen auf das gedruckte Bild: Keine Zeitschrift, kein illustriertes Magazin um 1930, in dem sich nicht auch Aufnahmen von Wolff & Tritscher fänden. Auf mehr als 300 Titel kommt ihre Bibliografie mit Übersetzungen auch ins Englische, Französische, Italienische oder Japanische. In der Summe ist das Lebenswerk von Wolff & Tritschler nicht ohne Widersprüche, was die mit rund 400 Objekten – darunter bis dato nie gezeigte Vintageprints, Plakate, Dokumente, Zeitschriften und Bücher – reich orchestrierte Ausstellung eher als Chance begreift: das Unternehmen Wolff & Tritschler als »Phänomen«, eingebettet in deutsche Geschichte um 1930.

Begleitend erscheint ein umfangreicher Band mit Beiträgen von Sabine Hock, Randy Kaufman, Hans-Michael Koetzle, Kristina Lemke, Günter Osterloh, Tobias Picard, Gerald Piffl, Shun Uchibayashi und Thomas Wiegand.
Hans-Michael Koetzle (Hg.): Dr. Paul Wolff & Tritschler. Licht und Schatten – Fotografien 1920 bis 1950, 464 Seiten, circa 1000 Abbildungen, gebunden, Kehrer Verlag Heidelberg, 78 Euro.
ISBN 978-3-86828-880-3 (deutsche Ausgabe), ISBN 978-3-86828-881-0 (englische Ausgabe)

https://www.kehrerverlag.com/de/dr-paul-wolff-und-tritschler?___from_store=en

„Augen Auf! 100 Jahre Leica Fotografie“

Vergangene Ausstellung – endete am 9. Juni 2019

Bereits vor der offiziellen Museumseröffnung im Juni zeigt das Museum die Schau „Augen Auf! 100 Jahre Leica Fotografie“. Nach erfolgreicher Tournee durch  die großen Museen Europas hat die Ausstellung ihre letzte Station im Ernst Leitz Museum in Wetzlar. Zu sehen sind einzigartige Bildikonen, eindrucksvolle Zeitdokumente und magische Momente der Fotografie Geschichte. Die Schau präsentiert Arbeiten unter anderem von René Burri, Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Bruce Davidson, William Eggleston, Lee Friedlander, Barbara Klemm, Joel Meyerowitz, László Moholy-Nagy und Alexander Rodtschenko.

„Augen Auf! 100 Jahre Leica Fotografie“ erforscht den Umbruch und die visuelle Revolution in der Fotografie – ausgelöst durch die technische Innovation der handlichen „Ur-Leica“. Die Ausstellung verdeutlicht aus kunst- und kulturgeschichtlicher Perspektive, wie sich durch das Kleinbild das fotografische Sehen im 20. Jahrhundert veränderte. So werden in 15 Kapiteln verschiedene Aspekte der Kleinbildfotografie von den Anfängen bis heute beleuchtet – von journalistischen Strategien über dokumentarische Ansätze bis hin zu freien künstlerischen Positionen. Die Ausstellung folgt dabei dem Gang der Technik- beziehungsweise Fotografie Geschichte.